School Information

COLNEY HEATH General Information Booklet


Foundation Stage        Ages 3 -5          Nursery and Reception            Early Years Foundation Stage

Key Stage 1                 Ages 5 -7          Years 1 and 2

Key Stage 2                 Ages 7 -11        Years 3, 4, 5 and 6

The Foundation Stage has six areas of learning:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Problem solving, reasoning and literacy
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Creative development

Key Stages 1 and 2: teach the National Curriculum:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Design and technology
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and design
  • Music
  • Physical education

Colney Heath also teaches religious education, though parents have the right to withdraw children for all or part of the religious education curriculum. In addition, schools are advised to teach personal, social and health education (PSHE) and citizenship.

The school teaches French from Year 3 as its chosen modern foreign language.

The Curriculum

Colney Heath School has a systemic process for planning and organising the curriculum. It is a process which manages the curriculum through subjects but allows flexibility in its delivery. The broad, balanced topic approach continues to be used with discreet subject teaching in certain subjects, e.g. Mathematics, English and Science. Our emphasis is on skills based progression in all areas of the curriculum.

Our curriculum design is structured to provide continuity of learning within and across both key stages. Careful planning ensures that each topic or unit of work recognises and builds on the learning that has gone before.

Early Years Education (Nursery and Reception)

The Early Years Foundation stage statutory framework sets out standards for development, learning and care of children from birth to five. It requires early year’s practitioners to assess each child in the academic year that he/she reaches the age of five.

Seven areas of learning

The revised EYFS framework focuses not only on what children learn but how they learn.  There is also a greater emphasis on parents as partners by involving them as much as possible in their child’s learning and development.

Each child is assigned a key person whose role is to ensure that every child’s care is tailored to meet their individual needs.  This is achieved through the process of observation, assessment and planning. 

Children develop in the context of relationships and the environment around them.  This is unique to each family and reflects individual communities and cultures.  The unique child reaches out to relate to people and things through the characteristics of effective learning, which are playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically.

The prime areas of learning are fundamental, work together and move through to support development in all other areas.  They are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development (making relationships, self confidence, self awareness, managing feelings and behaviour)
  • Communication and language (listening and attention, understanding and speaking)
  • Physical development (moving and handling, health and self care)

The specific areas of learning include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society.  They are:

  • Literacy (reading and writing)
  • Mathematics (numbers, shapes, space and measure)
  • Understanding the world (people and communities, the world and technology)
  • Expressive art and design (exploring and using media and materials and being imaginative)

National Curriculum (Year 1 to Year 6)

This is sub-divided into:

Core subjects Foundation subjects Cross Curricular Issues
English, mathematics, science, information technology, religious education (Parents may request children’s withdrawal from RE in which case alternative curriculum-based activities will be provided.) History, geography, design and technology, music, art, physical education, french e.g. Sex education, health education, citizenship

We use a variety of teaching styles which include whole class, group and individual teaching as appropriate. Children are grouped within classes according to their ability in certain areas of the curriculum.



Phonics is taught throughout the school.  We use the Letters and Sounds approach which is introduced when the children join us in Nursery.  Parents have the opportunity to attend information sessions to help them support their children at home.  The school also has a Phonic Games Lending Library.

Sex Education

Where sex education arises naturally in our curriculum activities, the subject is handled in a factual and yet sympathetic manner.  Puberty and personal relationship education starts from Year 5. We would seek your permission for the children prior to these sessions and ask that you put in writing if you wish to withdraw your child from these sessions.


Music is taught within each class setting.  In Year 3 every child has weekly violin lessons which introduces them to the skills needed to learn a musical instrument.  Paid lessons are offered for children from Reception who want to  learn the violin.  Flute lessons are also offered for children from Year 3 onwards.