Home Page


What does your child learn at school each day? Find information about our curriculum subjects here. (Further information can be found in the termly class newsletters)

The government has set a curriculum to be followed by all state schools. It is divided into sections for KS1 (Yr1/2), lower KS2 ( Yr3/4) and upper KS2 (Yr5/6).

In each of these key stages there are expectations of the key skills and knowledge to be acquired, including such things as specific times tables and spellings.

An overview of the curriculum is available here on our website. Each class teacher has written a newsletter giving more details about what children in each year group will be studying each term, which can viewed on the class pages of the website.

Meetings are also being held by class teachers so that any further questions can be answered. If parents are unable to attend a meeting, they may make an appointment to see their child’s teacher when needed.



Foundation Stage        Ages 3 -5          Nursery and Reception            Early Years Foundation Stage

Key Stage 1                 Ages 5 -7          Years 1 and 2

Key Stage 2                 Ages 7 -11        Years 3, 4, 5 and 6


The Curriculum

Colney Heath School has a systemic process for planning and organising the curriculum. It is a process which manages the curriculum through subjects but allows flexibility in its delivery. The broad, balanced topic approach continues to be used with discreet subject teaching in certain subjects, e.g. Mathematics, English and Science. Our emphasis is on knowledge and skills in all areas of the curriculum.

Our curriculum design is structured to provide continuity of learning within and across both key stages. Careful planning ensures that each topic or unit of work recognises and builds on the learning that has gone before.


Early Years Education (Nursery and Reception)

Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS statutory framework is followed at Colney Heath. This document sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five. It is organised into three characteristics of learning and seven areas of learning.


Characteristics of effective teaching and learning

Playing and exploring – children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’

Active learning – children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements

Creating and thinking critically – children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things

Prime areas

Specific areas

Communication and Language


Physical Development


Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Understanding the World


Expressive Art and Design

Teachers and Early Years Practitioners plan the curriculum to ensure the children make good progress towards the early learning goals which children are expected to reach by the end of the Reception class.



National Curriculum (Year 1 to Year 6)

This is sub-divided into:

Core subjectsFoundation subjects 
English, mathematics, science, information technology, religious educationHistory, geography, design and technology, music, art, physical education, French, PSHE, Relationship 

We use a variety of teaching styles which include whole class, group and individual teaching as appropriate. Children maybe grouped within classes according to their ability in certain areas of the curriculum.



Phonics is taught throughout the school. We follow the Letters and Sounds approach which is introduced when the children join us in Nursery. Parents have the opportunity to attend information sessions to help them support their children at home.  


Sex Education (SRE)

Where sex education arises naturally in our curriculum activities, the subject is handled in a factual and yet sympathetic manner.  It is part of our PHSE / Relationship Curriculum. We have defined sex education as conception and there are some lessons that children can be withdrawn from. Puberty will be covered as part of our health education.


British values

Democracy, individual liberty, rule of law and mutual respect and tolerance will be promoted through all aspects of the curriculum and daily life of the school.



Music is taught within each class setting using the Charanga scheme of work.  In Year 3 every child has weekly violin lessons which introduces them to the skills needed to learn a musical instrument.  Paid lessons are offered for children from Reception who want to  learn the violin.  

Paid violin and guitar lessons currently are also offered for children from Year 3 onwards within school time.